## AUGUST 8, 2018, TOWN BOARD

A regular meeting of the Town Board of the Town of Root, County of Montgomery and State of New York was held at the Town Hall, 1048 Carlisle Road, Sprakers, New York on the 8<sup>th</sup> day of August 2018.

PRESENT:	Gary Kamp	Supervisor
	Dominic Cuomo	Councilman
	LuEmma Quackenbush	Councilwoman
	John Thayer	Councilman
	John VanKersen	Councilman
	Laurel Eriksen	Town Clerk
	Donald Oeser	Superintendent of Highways

OTHERS PRESENT: Bob Harris, Assessor; Clifton Dorrough, Code Enforcement Officer; Tom Eriksen, Justice; Richard Bingham and Vito Powylan, Planning Board Member; Debbie Buck, reporter <u>Courier-Standard-Enterprise</u>; several residents as well as many nonresidents

Attorney

Supervisor Kamp opened the meeting at 7:00 PM with the pledge to the flag.

# APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Robert Subik

Councilwoman Quackenbush motioned seconded by Councilman VnKersen to approve the minutes from the July 11, 2018 meeting as presented.

Ayes 4 – Kamp, Cuomo, Quackenbush, VanKersen Nays 0

## PUBLIC COMMENT

Supervisor Kamp read a statement then opened the floor for public comment. There were several residents and nonresidents that addressed the Town Board on marriage equality.

## CORRESPONDENCE

The second quarter sales tax was received from Montgomery County in the amount of \$123,999.28.

# REPORTS

ABSENT:

Reports were available from the Code Enforcement Officer, the Dog Control Officer, the Justice, the Highway Superintendent and the Supervisor/Bookkeeper.

There were no reports from the Town Clerk, the Attorney and the Assessor.

The Planning Board reported that they will have 2 vacancies on the Board; alternate James Herrick is willing to fill one of the seats leaving one yet to fill.

## AGENDA

Supervisor Kamp presented the agenda for the meeting. Councilman Cuomo motioned seconded by Councilwoman Quackenbush to adopt the agenda.

Ayes 4 – Kamp, Cuomo, Quackenbush, VanKersenNays 0

# OLD BUSINESS

There were 3 letters of interest in the seat on the Town Board that was vacated by Councilwoman Lindley. Letters were received from David Clinansmith, John Thayer and Robert Paul Toleno. The following resolution was presented.

RESOLUTION No 12 of 2018

BOARD MEMBER Quackenbush presents the following resolution and moves its adoption.

WHEREAS Councilwoman Lindley resigned from the Town Board on June 13, 2018.

WHEREAS there is a vacant seat on the Town Council and letters of interest in said vacated seat were received.

RESOLVED That the Town of Root Town Board appoints John W. Thayer to fill the vacated seat for the remainder of 2018.

SECONDED by Board Member Cuomo

ADOPTED by the following vote:

Ayes 4 – Kamp, Cuomo, Quackenbush, VanKersen Nays 0

New Councilman Thayer took the oath of office and was seated on the Council. Letters of thanks will be sent to Mr. Clinansmith and Mr. Toleno.

## NEW BUSINESS

Former Bookkeeper Kyle Borst was a private contractor and paid out of the A1340.4 line. New Bookkeeper Patricia Laux is an employee of the Town and as such needs to be paid out of the A1340.1 line. The following resolution was presented.

RESOLUTION No 13 of 2018

BOARD MEMBER VanKersen presents the following Resolution and moved its adoption.

RESOLVED That the Town Supervisor be and he is hereby authorized to transfer from A1990.4 – Contingency the amount of \$4,260.00 to A1340.1 – Budget Personal Services.

SECONDED by Board Member Quackenbush.

ADOPTED by the following vote:

Ayes 5 – Kamp, Cuomo, Quackenbush, Thayer, VanKersen Nays 0

# ABSTRACTS

Abstract #8 of the general fund for vouchers numbered 188-209 were audited and ordered paid. Paid abstract total was \$35,297.81.

Abstract #8 of the highway fund for vouchers numbered 98-114 were audited and ordered paid. Paid abstract total was \$87,131.40.

Councilman Cuomo motioned seconded by Councilman VanKersen to accept the audit of abstract #8 of the general fund in the amount of \$35,297.81 and abstract #8 of the highway fund in the amount of \$87,131.40. The vote was unanimous.

## ADJOURN

Councilman VanKersen motioned seconded by Councilwoman Quackenbush to adjourn at 7:42 PM.

Respectfully Submitted, Laurel Sherrie Eriksen, Town Clerk